Father of Lights

Last night I watched the new documentary, Father of Lights.

Father of Lights

Our God is a God of love. That, in a nutshell, is the movie. It was amazing to watch story after story of people spreading His Love. In bars, in the heart of India, in the midst of the unwanted in China, to Latin leaders in Chicago. Declarations of the great and huge heart of Jesus in the most unlikely spots. Story after story after story.

From the Father of Lights website, Darren Wilson (founder of Wanderlust) shares, “I went into making this film by asking the simple question: who is God? I wanted to know His character, His personality, and who He truly is.”

Which story struck me the most? What’s my favorite flower, sweetest songbird, or the most beautiful tree? How much more a favorite story of His love in action! A favorite is impossible, however, here are two snippets..

There was a story of a young couple, leading successful lives. He was a bank VP and they had a great house and great life here in the US. It didn’t say how they ended up at a meeting with Randy Clark, but Randy (what an instigator!) prayed for them. I’m not even sure if he laid hands on the man. I did, however, see the young man, filled with the power of God, fly across the room. And that powerful touch, that Damascus-type revelation of His heart, prompted them to sell everything and move to China. There, they run an orphanage that cares for the unwanted. The orphanage is beautiful, yet they mentioned the first rat-infested apartment they rented within days of moving to China. They love on these castoffs with an extravagant love. They hold each young and broken one close. Physically, simply, lovingly. A love that indeed reveals the heart of our Father.

And then there’s Todd White – taking His Love into meetings with Latin warlords right here in this country. Watching those gang leaders melt and, a few months later, confessing they couldn’t get enough Christian music. And wearing their new-found love and goodness.

You have to see this movie! The official release is in October. They are touring the movie throughout the US until then. I know we’ll show it at NewDay, once it is released. (Per Darren’s request.)

As for us, in our own little worlds. Spread some love. Give a hug. Kiss a fool.

God is Love. “Taste and see that the Lord is good.” Psalm 34:8

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” James 1:17

Question: What’s your toughest situation? Can you, like our Poppa God, love first?

Sue
Only Believe.

DesignStudios-Inc.comRevivalArtists.comCFAI.co
Daily Painters of Minnesota
International Abstract Artists

bethel logo

I just love these worshipers! So I’m sharing them again.

Childlike Worship by contemporary artist Sue Kemnitz

  1. Sue! I cant wait to show this movie also.. and I just noticed that the little boy in your painting is dressed in orange and blue! And with the fish on his shirt.. I love this painting! It speaks to me more and more eveytime I study it.. I hope to see children (and adults!) able to worship like this… soon! Love you Sue!

    • Keith Browning
    • August 23rd, 2012

    Hello, my name is Keith Browning. My wife, Joann and I feel we were called to Colorado Springs to attend Charis Bible College. We watched the movie Father Of Lights at Andrew Wommacks school and were touched. My wife and I keep thinking about the orphanage in China and we feel led to serve as missionaries after we finish school. I am searching for the name of the orphanage but am having no luck finding it. If you could help me, I would sincerily appreciate any feedback. Thank you and God Bless you. Keith Browning.

    • Hi Keith,

      There’s a couple links on the “contact” page at fatheroflightsfilm.com. They are on the left-hand column. I couldn’t get the email link to work, but you could message them thru Facebook. Or there’s also a Questions tab along the left-hand side of that same contact page. Praying favor for you to get through!

      • Amy L.
      • January 9th, 2014

      I am pretty sure that it is called Loaves and Fishes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

