two cents

“I confidently walk in the room.

I had taken care that morning to make sure my garment was clean and brilliantly white. My hair combed and pulled up so as not to attract attention. My face, hands, and especially my feet were scrupulously scrubbed and my sandals had no stray threads. I’m so eager to see my friends and my God.

“As I passed the offering box, I threw in everything I had. Both of the copper coins. I was exuberant that I had coins to offer. Last week I just had a few seeds I had plucked on the edge of the field, left behind by generous land owners. I whispered to the coins, “Multiply!” right before I threw them in. I know my God will do it. He can do anything.

“There’s Jesus! He warms my heart. And then there’s His eyes. They burn right through me and let me know how loved I am. Very loved! He smiles with understanding as I toss my coins in. He has drawn me in and captured me for life. Just like His disciples. There’s more than meets the eye. He is love.”

As I re-read the story of the woman with the two small copper coins, I can’t help but re-enact that scene in my imagination. Is the woman hesitant or confident? Does she cower in her “poor-ness” or is she thankful for what she has? Does she have worry lines or smile lines?

Because Jesus loves her heart, I go with confident and thankful. Because she gives everything. Because she’s totally in love. Because she’s who God made her to be, the image of Jesus.

How’s your image today? Need to remind yourself of who you are in Him? Throw your two cents in–proudly.

“And a poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which make a penny. And he called his disciples to him and said to them, ‘Truly, I say to you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the offering box. For they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, all she had to live on.’” Mark 12:42-44

Sue
Only believe.

DesignStudios-Inc.comRevivalArtists.comCFAI.co
Daily Painters of Minnesota
International Abstract Artists

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

