blue appliances

What could blue appliances and healing the sick possibly have in common?

1950s retro stove

As I was preparing for the message last week, my attention kept wandering to my new Atomic Ranch magazine (atomic-ranch.com). I was frankly a bit disappointed in the mag because I had hoped it would be fun contemporary house ideas and instead it is more about returning 1950’s ranch-style homes to their former glory. Oh well… I still like looking at the pictures.

As I reigned my mind back in, I said, “Lord, what are you telling me?” The blue appliances (available at bigchill.com) and blue cars stuck out in my mind. And then the 1950’s date. Blue can be symbolic of revelation. So I Googled “Spiritual happenings in the 1950’s” eager to see what or who the Lord wanted to show me. I found a few names: William Branham, Jack Coe, and A.A. Allen. How fun is this? I love it when God talks like this!

William Branham was a powerful healing evangelist, traveling and speaking across the U.S. and attracting thousands to his meetings. He had a huge bright angel that traveled with him. There was also this picture which is currently archived in the Library of Congress. See the halo? That’s not a halo of glitter and cardboard. It’s a supernatural godly halo!

William Branham

The Lord would also give Branham visions of car wrecks and people on their deathbeds and then lead Branham into the scenarios, giving him the address or location. He started Voice of Healing, a magazine that chronicled the revival of the 40’s and 50’s. Yes – he had issues later on. Just like you and me. (That’s why community is good. To replace/displace our issues with the character of Jesus.)

I think the Lord led me through all of this as a reminder of what we can carry as we turn our hearts to the Lord. There is so much more! How to tap in?

  • Spend time with Jesus. Pick a time of day to focus on Him and to ask Him what He wants to accomplish.
  • Pray for opportunities. I did this last night before a meeting and ended up sitting close to a lady whose back was incredibly tender. We went outside, I gently put my hand on her back and prayed for her. She felt tingling as Jesus brought relief. Thank you, Jesus! (She was not walking like all the pain was gone, so I need to check in with her this morning and maybe pray again.) When we went back to the table, the lady on the other side of me asked, “Did you give her an adjustment?” I smiled, “No, just Jesus.”
  • Start with thanksgiving and praise and end with thanksgiving and praise.
  • Be yourself! Sometimes its awkward to spend time in public in prayer. Be encouraged with Graham Cooke’s words, “Its always awkward, so you might as well have fun with it.”
  • Be persistent. Don’t give up. I’m grateful that Heidi Baker shares that she prayed for 200 deaf people before the first one was healed.

“Heal the sick who are there and tell them, ‘The kingdom of God has come near to you.’ “ Luke 10:8

Interestingly, my fire alarm just went off three times. God is so fun! What do you think that means???

(This is part 3 of 3 about Luke 10:1-20 that we talked about on Sunday at NewDay. Did you miss Luke 10:3? Click here… or Click here for Luke 10:4.)

Sue
Only believe.

DesignStudios-Inc.comRevivalArtists.comCFAI.co
Daily Painters of Minnesota
International Abstract Artists

  1. HMMM< I don't think that's a halo, but rather his left arm raised up over his head -its blurry because it is in motion. I love your spirit though 🙂

    • Possibly could be his arm. I’ve stared at the photo, too, and looked for alternative explanations. There is much online that supports the supernatural halo. They even had the photo examined for alterations. I respect your opinion. Be blessed!

    • Cindy
    • June 8th, 2012

    Thanks for this, Sue! It’s good for me to keep in mind to ask God to lead, reveal, etc, then be thankful for all He is and does. Also, to remember that some of those I consider to be amazing healers that persisted for a long time before they saw big success in it. Blessings!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

