showered in love

The disciples and Jesus are relaxing at what we now know is the last dinner before the great and terrible day. They enjoy some good wine and fabulous food. The Father had prepared the place and time precisely. What’s important to Jesus, to share at this last gathering? (John 13:1-20)

Epiphany painting by minnesota comtemporary artist Sue Kemnitz
Thomas is munching on some fruit, “Andrew, did you see Jesus put his thumbs in that guys eyes? Imagine what it feels like to see your mother and father for the very first time!” Peter pipes in further down the table, “Hey John, the lame guy will need to walk places now!” While James engages Thomas, “I know – I thought fire and brimstone would be best for that city, but I guess I’m still learning,” There is no lack of stories, excitement, or laughter at the table. In fact, some evenings, they try to one-up each other. The stories are all so good!

They all turn and look as Jesus gets up from the table, rolls up His sleeves, and ties a towel about His waist. He pours water in a basin and sits at Peter’s feet. Peter is uncomfortable and gives Jesus “the look” as he challenges Him. But, as always, Jesus has His way. One by one, not to be hurried, He washes their feet.

It gives Him a chance to focus on each man.

* To touch, as we only can while on the earth.
* To connect, hands and feet.
* To look deep into their eyes. Although He may start in silence, to let it all sink in, He may also quietly share what He loves about each of them; Peter – his passion and zeal. James – willing to do anything, a keen sense of justice. John – who knows the depth of love. Thomas – wanting to die with Jesus. And the others.

One last intimate moment.

Yes, its about many things. Its a teaching moment, as Jesus continues to share with them afterwards. But in His eternal wisdom, its also one last time for their hearts to be one with Him, just as Jesus and the Father’s heart are one. Its a time that not one of them will forget in the incredible days ahead.

A few years back, I had the honor of caring for my sister while she was recovering from surgery. I fixed her meals, read to her, opened the shades and let the sun in. Thinking back, it was a opportunity to be very close. To connect hands and feet.

Close, personal, and loving. His heart is to always to draw near to us. Sometimes we need to just let Him shower us with love.

And the requirements to pass this on to others? Often just a bit of time and a love that passes understanding.

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35.

When do you feel close to Jesus? Have you let Him wash your feet lately? Have you washed others’ feet lately?

• • •  Please join us for an Afternoon Adventure. In Art. And Writing. To be held at NewDay Church in New Prague (MN). April 22, 2012 from  1-4 pm. Click here for more information and to register! Maybe we’ll draw feet—though unlikely…

Sue
Only believe.

Please click “like” if you like! And, pass this on! Spread the word of His goodness!

To purchase the art above, visit: DesignStudios-Inc.com
RevivalArtists.comCFAI.coDaily Painters of MinnesotaInternational Abstract Artists

    • Katia
    • June 13th, 2012

    Hello. My name is Katia and I live in France. Excuse me for my English :-)…This is a long time that I’m looking on the internet of the painters Christian (in France there are very little) and I fell on you by chance.
    Your paintings are beautiful. It is a source of encouragement for me: I also paint for about 2 years (in my home, but also during evening praise in my church). I paint my faith, my love for God…God bless you…

  1. Let me just say that you are a sign and a wonder and France will be better and blessed because of you and your art. Your art will release the Presence of God wherever it hangs. People will come to Him, because of the Spirit in your work! Always – be encouraged. You have great, great affect! God bless you, Katia!

    I don’t know if you signed up to receive my blog – but I am “doodling” (sketching) my way through Acts. Would love for you to join me and share your work with me. I’d love to see it. You can find me on Facebook.

    • Katia
    • June 19th, 2012

    Hello, thank you for your encouragement. This Thursday I will paint a concert given by the team of praise of my church for the feast of music (to Christians and non-Christians). It is a great challenge but I am so glad to finally use this gift through “my” painting of the people to be affected. Promised, I will send you pictures. Thanks again for your encouragement. God bless you. Katia
    Still sorry for my English… I use a translator via the internet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

