the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ

manger

“The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.” 2 Cor. 13:14

What an amazing way to close a letter! I wish I had put that on my Christmas cards, for I believe that this short phrase contains prophetic and powerful words that bring the breakthrough and the “more” we are all looking for.

Today … “the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ”

Eric Johnson (iBethel.org) expanded my grid recently when he spoke of grace. Johnson’s definition of grace is, “God’s unmerited favor.” Eric suggested that we explore where we have favor in our lives, and then expand the territory that God is currently blessing. Where’s our grace at, and what are we doing with it?

As I think about “the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ” and the favor I carry, my thoughts turn to authority—the “atmosphere” or “space” we have influence. Although we go in the power of Christ, we do not always have authority. For example, I have authority over my home and, to some extent, over my students. However, I do not have authority over the President, and if I tried, I would be overstepping my bounds, with no affect.

Jesus demonstrated this with the 72 as He sent them out. They went, knowing they had seen the power of Jesus Christ at work, and knowing they carried the same power, but not knowing if or where they had authority. Was it over sickness, or simply bugs they could stomp on? How did they know they had that authority? They tried it out. And they came back, surprised as anyone, that indeed sickness left and demons fled at the name of Jesus. Praise God! (Luke 10:17-20)

There are places I have authority. Perhaps not all the time, but definitely some. Colds, backs, shoulders, mechanical things such as coffee pots and ice makers, and reclaiming lost things. This authority often started with hearing a testimony of the goodness of God, and is always by the power of Jesus, but required the “doing” part. Quite an interesting bunch of things, isn’t it? God is a big, creative, and very good God!

I like the assuredness and confidence of Paul’s closing to the Corinthians. I believe it’s an impartation, and am taking it into 2012 with me. I expect people to get healed when I pray in Jesus’ name. I expect my coffee pot to last another year (long story), and I expect to find the lost – things and people! I expect my territory to expand and my authority to reflect His power as I try it out.

Where do you have power and authority? I challenge to you think about it, receive the impartation, and then do it! Find out where your boundaries are and expand them. Look at it as a grand adventure. I do!

Isn’t there an expression, “Nothing ventured, nothing gained?” Even our pre-Christian friends know that!

Give it your best shot and let me know! I’m excited. For you. And for me!

“The amazing grace of the Master, Jesus Christ, the extravagant love of God, the intimate friendship of the Holy Spirit, be with all of you.” The Message

sue
Only Believe

Tomorrow … the love of God
Shortly thereafter … the fellowship of the Holy Spirit

    • Cindy
    • December 27th, 2011

    Thanks, Sue. Really good blog. I enjoy pondering the insightful things you have to say. God bless you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

