thanks

beautiful dove!At the risk of writing about what everyone is writing about this week, I’m going to do it anyway. If you are already thankful enough, just enjoy the cute bird picture…

A week or so ago, Laurie shared her takeaway from a recent Bethel conference. It is … thanks. Carol Arnott shared with Beni Johnson a little deal, kinda like a small cell phone, that she wears and can be set to vibrate at set times during the day. Every time the little vibration came, she thanked the Lord.

Wow-ser! This is a great idea. Thankfulness was already on my mind, as a bit ago, I read Paul’s introduction to 1 Corinthians. “I give thanks to my God always for you…” (vs. 4) I have incorporated this in my daily prayers for my kids (thanks for both! Which is another story). So – once a day I was lifting thanks. A little more than that actually, as I like to Thank the Lord as I pray. I thought I was doing pretty good.

But every ten minutes? Hum. Not-so-good perhaps.

Last week, on another (excellent!) blog by Michael Hyatt (all aspiring writers and leaders should be reading his blog!), Hyatt suggested that we adopt an “art of gratitude.” That captured my heart. Art of gratitude! Love, love! The suggestion was made to put a smooth stone in our pocket and every time we felt the stone, give thanks. The first day I didn’t have a stone, so I put change in my pocket. I thought that prophetic, actually. That worked ok. I confess, tho, that when my eye lighted upon a small smooth stone I had on my desk, I was ecstatic. Perfect!

Then there was a man who came to the NewDay Healing Rooms with cancer. He got so blessed by the Lord there and His Presence which is so tangible there! He left with a  huge change in countenance! I just had to give him my stone and a word to Give Thanks. I am eager to hear his report! Jesus! So I guess I am back to change today.

So there you have it. My transition to an ever-thankful life. I’m not at every ten minutes, yet. But way better at expressing thankfulness than this time a week ago.

“Thank you, Jesus! Great is your name, Jesus!” All our love to You, Jesus!

“Come into His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise! Give thanks to Him, bless His name. For the Lord is good…” Ps 100:3-4

sue
Only Believe!

beautiful dove!

6″ x 6″ Original available at Etsy.
Prints available at Design Studios.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

