Jesus is the answer.

Haitian girl…isn’t this little Haitian girl beautiful? Such joy. Arms raised to Jesus. Even a hint of fire in her eyes. There is only one answer for her. And that person is Jesus.

Returning from a week in Haiti, I am reminded over and over again—here and there—Jesus is the answer. Jesus is the answer to depression, to stomach aches, to blindness, to nuclear reactors overheating, to lack, to hopelessness, to broken hearts, to any and all problems here on planet earth. The big picture answers of Jesus are wisdom, joy, love, peace, kindness, goodness, and hope, to name a few. And when we choose His wisdom and His love, His peace and His hope, the specific answers come.

There was a little boy who stole my heart in Haiti. (Actually, there were big boys who stole my heart, too. But we’ll save them for another time.) This little boy was standing at the crowd’s edge the second night of the Jesus Celebrations. He was watching me dance and so I went over to engage him. He eagerly imitated each clap, each spin, each raised hand. We had a grand time worshiping the Lord.

The next night, even tho I was on the other side of the square, he sought me out and stuck by my side during worship. Again, we jumped, shouted, smiled, loved. I could tell, he didn’t want to let me go.

Would that we would all have this kind of desire to be like, and to be with, Jesus. Child-like. Trusting. Adoring. Passionate. Loving. And never wanting our time together to end. That is what will bring any answer we’re in search of.

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me…I am the way and the truth and the life. ..” John 14: 1,6

sue
Only Believe.

sunset

Haitian Sunset

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

