the cloud.

shineThe other morning, I drove from my house in Elko to the office in New Prague, by way of the “puppy spa.” It was a splendid morning, filled with the wonder of God in nature. Hoar frost covered everything and the sun had just broke over the horizon. The air had that clear, crisp feel. As I approached New Prague, there was a wall of cloud. I drove into the cloud–the inside was beautiful and filled with small crystal-like rays–and drove out the other side. I dropped the dog off and as I headed north on a side street, I could see another wall in front of me. The cloud appeared to surround the city.

It reminded me of Jesus on the mount of transfiguration, perhaps because I had just read that portion of Scripture. “While he was speaking, a cloud appeared and covered them, and they were afraid as they entered the cloud. A voice came from the cloud, saying, ‘This is my Son, whom I have chosen; listen to him.’” Luke 9:34-35.

So…Lord, what are you saying today?

This is what I seem to be hearing. “I am surrounding you. I’m to the north, to the south, to the east, and to the west. I invite you into my presence. You have sought me and now you will find me and know me. In My glory. I like that I chose you. Stay just a little while longer.” I suspect this is for the city of New Prague, but I will take it for me, too. With faith, I know as I seek, I find. As I find, I know. Him. He is all around me. I invite you to take it for you, too.

shine
Shine
Pastel on paper

The Sunday before seeing the cloud, I received this image while in worship. It feels like the cloud to me, tho I’m not sure why to be honest.

    • Trish Ritchings
    • January 19th, 2011

    I really like this and can see how it refers to the cloud in that to me it draws me in to intimacy.

  1. I really like that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

