Rest.

Jesus knew how to rest. He knew how to withdraw from the maddening crowd. He knew when rejuvenation was the priority.

In that place of rest, that He gained a quiet confidence with Poppa. Their relationship went back years. It didn’t happen just when He needed it. It was quietly and intentionally cultured over Jesus’ short life. “Poppa, let’s chat. Let’s walk. Let’s just sit and be quiet.” Can you hear Poppa? “Son, I love you. I cherish our time together. Just turn your heart toward me. I’m here. Nothing can stand against you, because I love you and I love being with you. All things are possible for you, My Son!”

It was there that he learned to give his cares to Poppa. In return, Poppa gave wisdom, His peace, and His secrets. (Not that He had to—He wanted to.) It was there that Jesus learned to love so deeply and what was on Father’s heart.

Whenever I’m with Jesus, He’s so calm. So still. So confident. So intentionally with me. He is teaching me to be gentle and humble. (I am so still learning!) He is teaching me to find rest for my soul. Something to remember in this coming season.

Wait on Him. Focus on Him. Rest with Him. Will you?

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:29

“Rest in the LORD and wait patiently for Him…” Psalm 37:7

•  •  •

soaring, too

Free baby painting*—This is a blatant attempt to encourage you to sign up to receive this blog as an email subscription. To subscribe, click on “Sign me up” in the right-hand column. Your name will be entered to win this original  painting.

*Only one 6″ x 6″ painting will be given away.**
Offer ends December 15.

**Unless I offer an abstract next month…

Note: Blogs will be posted once a week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

